Image link to the ATSC policy page describing membership requirements and dues schedule.
The benefits of membership are available here!

ATSC Events Calendar

Please see the eHow iCal instructional page which offers details for using the iCal file in your Outlook calendar.

2014 ATSC Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors


Bronze Sponsors

Advanced Television Systems Committee

LIN Media’s Jenkins named to ATSC Board of Directors

PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 05 March 2014 12:05


WASHINGTON, March 5, 2014 – The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) has named Brett Jenkins of LIN Media to the ATSC Board of Directors. Jenkins has been elected to fill the seat vacated by Jim Kutzner, PBS, upon his retirement.

As LIN Media’s Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Jenkins oversees the company’s engineering and IT functions and advises the executive team on new technologies, trends and best practices for integration. He is also responsible for developing new business models across all areas of technology, including broadcast, Internet, and mobile; and for maximizing the growth and efficiency of all broadcast and digital operations.

Previously, Jenkins served as Vice President of Technology for ION Media Networks. During his tenure there, Jenkins identified new business models for mobile media and helped lead the industry’s standardization around broadcast mobile digital TV. Jenkins also held past executive positions at Thales Broadcast & Multimedia and at Thomson.

Jenkins named to board

Advanced Television Systems Committee Invites Watermarking Technologies Proposals for Future Broadcast TV System

PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 15 January 2014 14:33


Automatic Content Recognition technologies needed for future ATSC 3.0 standard

WASHINGTON, Jan. 15, 2014 - The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) today announced a Call for Proposals regarding audio and/or video watermarking technologies for Automatic Content Recognition to help enable interactive applications and other features of the ATSC 3.0 broadcast TV standard.

With ATSC 3.0, interactive applications and other features enhancing audio and video can be made be available by using an Automatic Content Recognition solution associated with transmitted material to identify key aspects of the material (e.g. content identification, content source, current time point in the content, etc.) This will allow the television to access the desired additional functionality via an Internet connection. The scope of this Call for Proposals is limited to a watermarking solution for Automatic Content Recognition. Respondents may propose either an audio watermark solution or a video watermark solution, or both.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 January 2014 14:44
ACR Watermark CFP

ATSC Board Members Elected

PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Tuesday, 03 December 2013 14:20


Godfrey, Eyer and Taylor Begin Terms in January

WASHINGTON, Dec. 3, 2013 – Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee, Inc. (ATSC) have elected three industry executives to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms beginning January 2014.

Former ATSC Chairman John Godfrey of Samsung, whose earlier board term expired a year ago, was elected to serve on the board again. Current board members Mark Eyer of Sony and John Taylor of LG Electronics USA were elected to serve second terms on the ATSC Board of Directors.

Other current directors whose terms continue in 2014 are: Kevin Gage, NAB; Ira Goldstone, Univision; James Kutzner, PBS; Richard Friedel, Fox; Brian Markwalter, CEA; Sam Matheny, WRAL/Capitol Broadcasting; Glenn Reitmeier, NBC Universal; Andy Scott, NCTA; Bob Seidel, CBS; Dave Siegler, Cox Media Group; and Peter Symes, SMPTE.

Board Members Elected

ATSC Implementation Guide For The Mobile Emergency Alert System Provides Roadmap For TV Broadcasters Launching Service

PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 13 November 2013 09:40


Enhanced Service Can Deliver Video, Audio, Graphics, and Text to Mobile EAS-equipped Device

WASHINGTON, Nov. 13, 2013 – The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) today published a new "Implementation Guide" as a valuable resource for TV stations preparing to deploy enhanced mobile emergency alert capability The new handbook, developed by the ATSC M-EAS Implementation Team, provides a roadmap for stations broadcasting mobile digital TV to upgrade their public service capability, with step-by-step instructions on how to both update broadcast equipment and demonstrate the new functionality to local emergency management agencies.

Using the existing network of broadcast TV stations, Mobile Emergency Alert System (Mobile EAS) uses Mobile Digital TV to reach viewers with video, text, by sound, and with informative maps, graphics, and instructions.

The new ATSC implementation guide is available on the ATSC.org website.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 13 November 2013 10:22
M-EAS Guide

ATSC Establishes Candidate Standard For Interactive TV

PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Monday, 02 December 2013 14:45


Progress on A/105 Underscores Momentum Behind ATSC 2.0

WASHINGTON, D.C. - December 2, 2013 – The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) has elevated the A/105 "Interactive Services" system to Candidate Standard. A key element of the emerging ATSC 2.0 standard, A/105 is designed to enable the marriage of Internet-delivered and broadcast content. "Candidate Standard" status is a major step toward becoming a "Proposed Standard," and then on to consideration as a full-fledged ATSC Standard.

"Viewers are consuming television content on a variety of devices -- whenever, wherever and however they want it," said ATSC President Mark Richer. "Consumer demand for video has resulted in an increasing number of paths to deliver content to viewers. The ATSC 2.0 Interactive Services system allows the broadcaster to connect broadcast programming with additional services related to that programming."

Last Updated on Monday, 02 December 2013 14:51
Interactive TV Standard

ATSC Receives 10 Initial Physical Layer Proposals for Next-Generation TV Broadcasting Technologies

PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Tuesday, 27 August 2013 08:23


ATSC 3.0 Transmission Requirements Include Higher System Capacity, Robust Performance, Improved Efficiency for Future Broadcast TV System

WASHINGTON, Aug. 27, 2013 – The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) has received 10 initial proposals from 19 organizations for the Physical Layer of the new “ATSC 3.0” broadcast television standard. With higher capacity to deliver Ultra High-Definition services, robust reception on mobile devices and improved efficiency, the new ATSC 3.0 standard is expected to redefine TV broadcasting for decades to come.

The strong response to ATSC’s call for proposals, issued on March 27, reflects a high level of enthusiasm in the industry for defining the modulation and error coding technologies in the transmission system that will provide a foundation for the next-generation terrestrial broadcast standard, according to ATSC President Mark Richer.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 17 December 2014 09:39
ATSC 3.0 Call for Proposals
<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 2
  Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook