The 2008 Bernard J Lechner Award

The “Bernard J. Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award” is bestowed once a year to an individual representative of the membership whose technical and leadership contributions to the ATSC have been invaluable and exemplary. The title of the award recognizes the first recipient, Bernard Lechner, for his outstanding services to the ATSC. The award is made by the Board of Directors and presented at the ATSC Annual Meeting.

Michael Dolan of TBT, the 2008 Lecher Award recipient.

Michael Dolan of TBT, the 2008 Lecher Award recipient.

The 2008 Bernard Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award was presented on May 8th to Michael Dolan. Founder and President of Television Broadcast Technology, Dolan was recognized for his long service to ATSC and his commitment to the development of high quality technical documents.

“He gives standards development and documentation the attention and care that it requires,” said ATSC President Mark Richer. “Mike has consistently demonstrated that he cares deeply about helping to optimize our standards development process.”

Among other things, Dolan was a key contributor to the development of the ATSC’s Data Broadcasting suite of standards, including A/90; and he co-authored the book Understanding the ATSC Data Broadcasting Standard (McGraw-Hill, 2001).

Return to the awards list.