The 2019 Bernard J Lechner Award

2019 Lechner Award Recognizes Leadership in Development of ATSC 3.0 Interactivity

WASHINGTON, May 31, 2019 – The Advanced Television Systems Committee honored Adam Goldberg as the 2019 recipient of the organization’s highest technical honor, the Bernard J. Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award. The award presentation capped the two-day 2019 ATSC Next Gen TV Conference at the Ronald Reagan International Trade Center. Goldberg chairs the S36 Specialist Group on ATSC 3.0 Security, where he led the development of the A/360 ATSC 3.0 Security and Service Protection Standard. A/360 defines methodologies to secure content and data flows described in ATSC 3.0 specifications.

“Security has been of paramount importance in ATSC 3.0 from the outset, and Adam has been a key technical contributor on ATSC 3.0 security,” said ATSC President Madeleine Noland.  “By facilitating consensus, Adam helped ensure that strong ATSC 3.0 security not only helps keep our data and content safe, but also enables new business models, such as subscription or pay-per view services, while opening doors to new industry sectors like automotive.”

Goldberg, currently Director of Technical Standards at Sony, has been working in television for a quarter century.  He was a key player in the analog-to-digital transition a decade ago and has been active in cable television, terrestrial broadcasting and virtually every aspect of the ever-evolving home entertainment landscape. 

His career includes key technology and standards roles in various leading companies over the years – Sony, Pioneer, Sharp, Harmonic and DiviCom, among them.  For a decade, he led his own consulting firm, AGP LLC, representing NAGRA, Pearl TV and others. At ATSC, in addition to leading S36, Goldberg has been active in other specialist groups, including Management & Protocols (S33),  Applications & Presentation (S34) and Interactive Environment (S38).

He studied computer science at the University of Kentucky and received his bachelor’s degree in computer science from Iowa State University.

The Lechner Award is bestowed annually to a representative of ATSC’s membership whose technical and leadership contributions to ATSC have been invaluable and exemplary. Now in its 20th year, the award is named for its first recipient in 2000, Bernard Lechner, for his outstanding services to ATSC. Lechner died in 2014 after a long career in TV technology. Selected by the ATSC Board of Directors, Lechner award winners are:

2000 – Bernard Lechner, Consultant
2001 – Rich Chernock, Triveni Digital
2002 – Regis Crinon, Microsoft
2003 – Glenn Adams, Extensible Formatting Systems, Inc
2004 – Graham Jones, National Association of Broadcasters
2005 – John Henderson, Hitachi
2006 – Art Allison, NAB
2007 – Mark Eyer, Sony Electronics
2008 – Michael Dolan, TBT
2009 – Wayne Bretl, Zenith/LG Electronics
2010 – Pat Waddell, Harmonic
2011 – Jim Starzynski, NBC Universal
2012 – S. Merrill Weiss, MWG Group
2013 – Mark Aitken, Sinclair Broadcast Group
2014 – James Kutzner, PBS
2015 – Luke Fay, Sony
2016 – Madeleine Noland, LG Electronics
2017 – Skip Pizzi, NAB
2018 – Mark Corl, Triveni Digital
2019 – Adam Goldberg, AGP/Sony