ATSC Honors Mark Corl with Highest Technical Honor

For Immediate Release

2018 Lechner Award Recognizes Leadership in Development of ATSC 3.0 Interactivity

WASHINGTON, May 25, 2018 – The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) is honoring Mark Corl of Triveni Digital as the 2018 recipient of the organization’s highest technical honor, the Bernard J. Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award. The presentation this week capped the two-day ATSC NextGen TV Conference at the Ronald Reagan International Trade Center.

Corl serves as Chairman of the ATSC’s Technology Group 3 Specialist Group 34-4, an ad-hoc group working on the Runtime Environment for ATSC 3.0 applications.  He led the development of A/344, the Interactive Content Standard.

“Mark Corl’s leadership helped to form the Interactive Content Standard, and he was a key technical contributor and facilitated group consensus to complete this important element of ATSC 3.0.  Mark also serves as Vice Chair of the Personalization and Interactivity Implement Team, where he has coupled his detailed knowledge with practical understanding to develop real-world applications and services.   In addition to those things, Mark also chairs an ad-hoc group working on ATSC 3.0 Transition Documents for broadcasters,” said ATSC President Mark Richer. 

As Triveni Digital’s Senior Vice President of Emergent Technology Development, Mark works on new technologies that impact digital TV distribution, with a special focus on IP-delivered content.

During his 20-year tenure at Triveni Digital, Corl has led the metadata generation systems development and continues to lead the test and measurement monitoring systems development effort. 


Prior to Triveni Digital, Corl had 15 years of software engineering experience at leading companies including Texas Instruments and Xerox Corporation. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics and computer science from Bucknell University. 


The Lechner Award is bestowed annually to an individual representative of the ATSC’s membership whose technical and leadership contributions to the ATSC have been invaluable and exemplary. The title of the award recognizes the first recipient in 2000, Bernard Lechner, for his outstanding services to the ATSC. The honoree is selected by the ATSC Board of Directors and presented at the ATSC’s spring meeting. Lechner passed away in 2014 after a long career in TV technology.

  • 2000 – Bernard Lechner, Consultant
  • 2001 – Rich Chernock, Triveni Digital
  • 2002 – Regis Crinon, Microsoft
  • 2003 – Glenn Adams, Extensible Formatting Systems, Inc
  • 2004 – Graham Jones, National Association of Broadcasters
  • 2005 – John Henderson, Hitachi
  • 2006 – Art Allison, National Association of Broadcasters
  • 2007 – Mark Eyer, Sony Electronics
  • 2008 – Michael Dolan, TBT
  • 2009 – Wayne Bretl, LG Electronics/Zenith
  • 2010 – Pat Waddell, Harmonic
  • 2011 – Jim Starzynski, NBC Universal
  • 2012 – S. Merrill Weiss, MWG Group
  • 2013 – Mark Aitken, Sinclair Broadcast Group
  • 2014 – James Kutzner, PBS
  • 2015 – Luke Fay, Sony
  • 2016 – Madeleine Noland, Consultant to LG Electronics
  • 2017 – Skip Pizzi, NAB
  • 2018 – Mark Corl, Triveni Digital

# # #

About the ATSC:

The Advanced Television Systems Committee is defining the future of television with the ATSC 3.0 next-generation broadcast standard.   ATSC is an international, non-profit organization developing voluntary standards for digital television. The ATSC’s 150-plus member organizations represent the broadcast, broadcast equipment, motion picture, consumer electronics, computer, cable, satellite, and semiconductor industries. For more information visit


ATSC Media Contact
Dave Arland, (317) 701-0084