Board Election Ballot: Vote Early and Often

ATSC-Dec-2015-VoteWith tongue firmly planted in cheek, ATSC President Mark Richer urges all ATSC members to “Vote Early and Often” for the new slate of Directors for the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms effective Jan. 1, 2016.

“Seriously, of course, our bylaws dictate one vote per member – but my point is that it’s really important to cast your votes,” says Richer. “The board drives the overarching strategy for our organization in support of our aggressive standards-setting goals, and I encourage all members to cast their votes for the Board.”

Members may vote for five of the eight candidates below (or four of the candidates and one write-in).

  • Gerard Faria, TeamCast
  • Richard Friedel, Fox Networks Engineering and Operations
  • Chris Homer, PBS
  • Brett Jenkins, Media General
  • John Lee, Canadian Broadcasting Company
  • Rich Redmond, GatesAir
  • Glenn Reitmeier, NBC-Universal
  • Anne Schelle, Pearl TV

Three nominees, Friedel, Jenkins and Reitmeier, are current directors whose current terms are expiring at year-end. The other two open board seats are for the expiring terms of Ira Goldstone, formerly of Univision, and Sam Matheny, formerly of Capitol Broadcasting.

Richer and the Nominating Committee remind ATSC members about the board nomination policy:

It is the goal of ATSC to attain a Board of Directors that shall be comprised of executives knowledgeable about and involved in digital television, DTV Standards, and related issues. It is the further goal of the ATSC that the members of the ATSC Board of Directors represent a balance among related industry segments.

The Chairman of the Board of Directors will be elected by the Board at its first meeting of the New Year. The ballot for election of directors closes on Dec. 29. Vote Early and Often!  

The cynical phrase “Vote early and often” is variously attributed to four individuals –

three famous Chicagoans: William Hale Thompson, mayor from 1915-23 and 1931-35; notorious gangster Al Capone (1899-1947); and Richard J. Daley, mayor from 1955-76; and one infamous Washingtonian, Mark Richer. It’s widely believed that Thompson invented the phrase, and Capone, Daley and Richer later repeated it.