THE ENVELOPE PLEASE…Corl Earns ATSC’s Highest Technical Honor

Mark Corl received the 2018 Bernard J. Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award, the ATSC’s highest technical honor, at the ATSC Next Gen TV Conference.

Corl, who led the development of the A/344 Interactive Content Standard, chairs the ATSC’s ad-hoc group working on the Runtime Environment for ATSC 3.0 applications.  He also serves as Vice Chair of the Personalization and Interactivity Implement Team, where he has coupled his detailed knowledge with practical understanding to develop real-world applications and services.  In his spare time, he chairs an ad-hoc group working on ATSC 3.0 Transition Documents for broadcasters and serves on the ATSC Board of Directors.

As Triveni Digital’s Senior Vice President of Emergent Technology Development, Corl works on new technologies that impact digital TV distribution, with a special focus on IP-delivered content. During his 20-year tenure at Triveni Digital, he has led the metadata generation systems development and continues to lead the test and measurement monitoring systems development effort.  Previously, Corl had 15 years of software engineering experience at leading companies including Texas Instruments and Xerox.

The Lechner Award is bestowed annually to an individual representative of the ATSC’s membership whose technical and leadership contributions to the ATSC have been invaluable and exemplary. The title of the award recognizes the first recipient in 2000, Bernard Lechner, for his outstanding services to the ATSC. The honoree is selected by the ATSC Board of Directors and presented at the ATSC’s spring meeting. Lechner died in 2014 after a long career in TV technology.

Recipients of the ATSC Lechner Award:

  • 2000 – Bernard Lechner, Consultant
  • 2001 – Rich Chernock, Triveni Digital
  • 2002 – Regis Crinon, Microsoft
  • 2003 – Glenn Adams, Extensible Formatting Systems, Inc.
  • 2004 – Graham Jones, National Association of Broadcasters
  • 2005 – John Henderson, Hitachi
  • 2006 – Art Allison, National Association of Broadcasters
  • 2007 – Mark Eyer, Sony Electronics
  • 2008 – Michael Dolan, TBT
  • 2009 – Wayne Bretl, LG Electronics/Zenith
  • 2010 – Pat Waddell, Harmonic
  • 2011 – Jim Starzynski, NBC Universal
  • 2012 – S. Merrill Weiss, MWG Group
  • 2013 – Mark Aitken, Sinclair Broadcast Group
  • 2014 – James Kutzner, PBS
  • 2015 – Luke Fay, Sony
  • 2016 – Madeleine Noland, LG Electronics
  • 2017 – Skip Pizzi, National Association of Broadcasters
  • 2018 – Mark Corl, Triveni Digital