NEW YEAR, NEW CHAIRMAN: Claudy Elected to Lead ATSC Board in 2019

2019 ATSC Board Chairman Lynn Claudy (left) receives the gavel handoff from outgoing Chairman Richard Friedel.

At its Jan. 15 meeting, the ATSC Board of Directors elected industry veteran Lynn Claudy of NAB as Board Chairman for 2019. He succeeds Fox’s Richard Friedel, who served as ATSC Board Chairman from 2016-18.

Claudy is the Senior Vice President of Technology for the National Association of Broadcasters.  He joined NAB in 1988 as a staff engineer and held positions of Director of Advanced Engineering & Technology and Vice President before assuming his present position in 1995.

“My dear friend Lynn is a respected leader, ideally suited to guide the Board during this year as the ATSC transitions to new leadership,” said ATSC President Mark Richer, who announced his plan to retire this year.  Richer also thanked outgoing Chairman Friedel. “Richard provided the perfect balance of enthusiastic and pragmatic leadership during a pivotal stage for ATSC,” he said.

A long-time member of the ATSC Board of Directors, Claudy is a member of AES, AFCCE, IEEE, SBE and SMPTE and serves on the FCC Technological Advisory Council. He received the IEEE’s Jules Cohen Outstanding Engineering Achievement Award in 2016. He earned his BA degree from Oberlin College, BSEE from Washington University in St. Louis and MSEE degree from the Illinois Institute of Technology.