Search Site

Lechner Award

The Bernard J. Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award is bestowed once a year to an individual representative of the membership whose technical and leadership contributions to ATSC have been invaluable and exemplary. The title of the award recognizes the first recipient, the late Bernard Lechner, for his outstanding service to the ATSC.

Lechner was the retired Staff Vice President, Advanced Video Systems of RCA Laboratories. His 30-year career at RCA covered all aspects of television and display research, including early work on home video tape recorders in the late 1950s, extensive development of flat-panel matrix displays in the 1960s including pioneering efforts on active-matrix liquid crystal displays, advanced two-way cable TV systems and pay-TV systems in the early 1970s, electronic tuning systems and CCD comb-filters for TV receivers in the mid-1970s, automated broadcast cameras and CCD broadcast cameras in the late 1970s and early 1980s, to HDTV in the mid-1980s.

Lechner Award Recipients

2020 Recipient - Jae-Young Lee

Jae-Young Lee

Senior Research Scientist
Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute

Jae-Young Lee earned his honors Bachelor of Science in electrical and computer engineering from Rutgers University in 2001.  Two years later, he earned a master’s degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Wisconsin, Madison and his Engineering Science doctorate was achieved at Simon Fraser University in 2013.

Joining the ETRI in 2003, Jae-Young currently holds the position of Senior Research Scientist for ETRI. His research interests are in the areas of digital signal processing for various applications, including digital broadcasting, telecommunications, and human–computer interaction systems.

Jae-Young started working on ATSC standards seven years ago, and he serves now as ATSC’s S32 Specialist Group chair.

All Award Recipients

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to The Standard, our monthly newsletter, to stay up-to-date with ATSC news and events around the world.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.