ATSC BOARD MEMBERS ELECTED: Corl, Fairhurst and Todd Begin Terms in January

WASHINGTON, Dec. 11, 2017  Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee Inc. (ATSC) have elected three industry executives to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms that begin in January 2018.  

Craig Todd, Senior Vice President, Dolby Laboratories, was re-elected to the board. Newly- elected directors are Mark Corl, Senior Vice President, Triveni Digital, and Jon Fairhurst, Principal Standards Engineer, Samsung.

Current board members whose terms continue in 2018 are Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters; Richard Friedel, Fox; Dr. Paul J. Hearty, Sony Electronics; Brett Jenkins, Nexstar Media Group; Dr. Jong Kim, LG Electronics; Howard Lukk, Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers; Brian Markwalter, Consumer Technology Association; Glenn Reitmeier, NBC Universal; Anne Schelle, Pearl TV; and Andy Scott, NCTA – The Internet and Television Association. Additionally, Zenith’s Wayne Luplow has been appointed to the 2018 ATSC board by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

“The ATSC is fortunate to have a talented, experienced and engaged board of directors, which drives our overarching strategy.  This is especially critical as the ATSC and its members continue to develop and update standards and, equally important, support the implementation of Next Gen TV powered by ATSC 3.0 in 2018 and beyond,” said ATSC President Mark Richer.

The ATSC thanks board members whose terms expire at the end of 2017: Christopher Homer, who has retired from PBS; David Siegler, Cox Media Group; and Dr. Yian Wu, Communications Research Centre, who represented the IEEE on the board this year.  Friedel’s term as 2017 ATSC Board Chairman also expires at year-end. The board will elect its 2018 chairman at its first meeting of the new year. 

Mark Corl, Triveni Digital’s Senior Vice President of Emergent Technology Development, works on new technologies that impact digital TV distribution, with a special focus on IP-delivered content. During his 20-year tenure at Triveni Digital, Corl has led the metadata generation systems development and continues to lead the test and measurement monitoring systems development effort.  Prior to Triveni Digital, Corl had 15 years of software engineering experience at leading companies including Texas Instruments and Xerox Corporation. Corl has been contributing to ATSC efforts, chairing two ad hoc groups and serving as vice chairman of the Personalization and Interactivity Implementation Team. He earned his B.S. degree in mathematics and computer science from Bucknell University.

Jon Fairhurst, Principal Standards Engineer for Samsung Research America, Inc., has worked for more than 30 years on projects related to digital television. This includes 10 years at Grass Valley Group developing broadcast equipment and digital switchers and 20 years at Sharp Laboratories of America developing television technologies. He joined Samsung in April 2017. Fairhurst has been involved in standards throughout his career, spearheading standards for measuring television power consumption and leading multiple Consumer Technology Association standards over the years. In ATSC, he is the vice-chairman and editor of ATSC Video Ad Hoc Group (TG3 S34-1). He earned his B.S. degree in electrical engineering and computer science from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Craig Todd, Dolby’s Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, has been with the company for 40 years, playing a major role in surround sound and digital audio coding for film, broadcast and packaged media. He identified contrast and brightness as key areas for image improvements, leading Dolby to develop the fundamentals of HDR technology. Todd has been involved in ATSC for more than 25 years from the development of ATSC 1.0, and he served on the ATSC Board in 2007-2013 and 2015-2017.  He also has been active in other standards and industry organizations, including ITU-R, DVB, UHDA, CTA, MPEG, SMPTE, AES, SCTE, IEC and NABA. He earned his B.S. degree in physics from the California Institute of Technology.


# # #

About the ATSC:

The Advanced Television Systems Committee is defining the future of television with the ATSC 3.0 next-generation broadcast standard.  ATSC is an international, non-profit organization developing voluntary standards for digital television. The ATSC’s 140-plus member organizations represent the broadcast, broadcast equipment, motion picture, consumer electronics, computer, cable, satellite, and semiconductor industries. For more information visit

ATSC Media Contact:

Dave Arland

(317) 701-0084